Return to Headlines

Teacher of the Year

Jessieville School District held a school-wide assembly on Monday, May 13 to honor the staff. Awards were given to those individuals who had perfect attendance and those who have worked in the school district 5, 10, 15, 20 and 25 years. Five teachers were recognized for obtaining their Masters degree during the school year: Kellye O’Neal, Ashley Huneycutt, Lyndon Albright, Todd Huff and Hope Bratton. Finally, Teacher of the Year awards were presented. The following were the requirements for nominations:
• Be an exceptionally dedicated, knowledgeable, and skilled teacher, K-12th
grade, who is planning to continue in an active teaching role.
• Inspire students of all backgrounds and abilities to learn
• Have the respect and admiration of students, parents and colleagues.
• Play an active and useful role in the community as well as in the school
• Be poised and articulate
Over 120 nominations were received from staff, students, parents and community members. The final selection was made by committee. Jessieville Elementary Teacher of the Year was Margaret McNeely. Ms. McNeely is a 5th grade teacher who has been teaching at Jessieville for four years. Jessieville Middle School Teacher of the Year was Gretchen Boyes. Ms. Boyes teaches English and has been with Jessieville for two years. Jessieville High School Teacher of the Year and selected as Jessieville School District Teacher of the Year was Todd Huff. Todd teaches physical science and biology and has been with Jessieville for two years.